Archive for Hall of Fame


Posted in Uncategorized with tags on April 19, 2019 by OBCA

Five men with a combined 150 years of experience will be inducted into the Oklahoma Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame on June 1 in Ada.

Executive Director Mark Wilson of Ardmore made the announcement of the OBCA’s 18th class of honorees.

Varryl Franklin of Oklahoma City Millwood and A.D. Burtschi of Putnam City have the longest tenures of the five new inductees. Each spent 40 years on the bench before retiring. 

Franklin, with 13 basketball state championships, is the state’s all-time leader in that category.

Also entering the Hall of Fame are Tim Bart, former president of the OBCA and a 19-year coaching veteran; Jim Petree, who spent 27 years at Thomas, and Kevin Harrington of Lawton MacArthur. Harrington is the third member of his family to be recognized by the OBCA.

The 2019 class will bring the number of Hall of Fame members to 110. The first class was inducted in 2002.

The induction ceremony will be held at 11 a.m. in the Chickasaw Business and Conference Center, 830 East Main St., Ada.

Tickets for the luncheon are $15 and are available through Ja Havens of East Central University, 417.576.7190 or


Tim Bart. He spent 19 years as head coach at Moore, Tulsa Rogers and Bartlesville, compiling a record of 291-176. His 2005 Bartlesville team finished runner-up in Class 6A. Served as president of the Oklahoma Basketball Coaches Association in 2001-02, and established its Hall of Fame in 2002. 

A.D. Burtschi. He elevated Putnam City to a powerhouse plateau, winning four state championships between 2002 through 2010. Retired in 2017 with 40-year record of 752-291. National high school basketball coach of the year, 2016. Oklahoma Coaches Association Hall of Fame, 2017. 

Varryl Franklin. Coached 40 years, all at Oklahoma City Millwood. With 13 basketball state championships, he is the state’s all-time leader. He also has five runner-up finishes. His 675 wins included 30 regional championships. Oklahoma Coaches Association Hall of Fame, 2010. 

Kevin Harrington. He is the third member of his family to be selected for the OBCA Hall of Fame, joining his father, Clester, in 2002, and brother Bruce, 2018. He coached 24 years, all but one at Lawton MacArthur, and retired in 2016 with 378 victories. 

Jim Petree. He coached 32 seasons (27 as head coach) at his high school alma mater, Thomas, retiring in 2017. He had two state runner-up finishes, 2008 and 2015, to go along with 25 district championships and a total of 493 victories. 



Posted in Uncategorized with tags on June 4, 2009 by OBCA

old ball

The 2009 OBCA Hall of Fame

Truman Dixon

George Hauser

Richard Megli

Gene Robbins

Don Sumner

OBCA Hall Of Fame Candidates

Posted in NEWS with tags on May 14, 2008 by OBCA

Harold Aldridge

Jack Begley

Mike Bolton

Clarence Brethaupt

Wayne Cobb

Claude Cody

Harly Day

Leon Dixon

Truman Dixon

Doug Dugger

Eddie Evans

CC Gillespie

Robert Griffin

Cecil Hankins

Phil Ingersoll

Richard Megli

Mike Mims

Larry Palmore

Luther Peagues

Ray Reins

Bailey Ricketts

Roy Riley

Carroll Smelser

Ken Sooter

Royce Teakell

Doug Tolin

John Turney

Randy Turney

Bailey Van Zant

Jimmy Williams

Bob Wilmot