Archive for the Uncategorized Category


Posted in COACHES CORNER, NEWS, Uncategorized on April 27, 2022 by OBCA


CLASS B – Roberto Hernandez – Tyrone

CLASS A – Nolan Gore – Hydro-Eakly

CLASS 2A – Dayton Forsythe – Dale

CLASS 3A – Josiah Johnson – Marlow

CLASS 4A – Reid Lovelance – Crossings Christian

CLASS 5A – Ty Frierson – Tulsa Memorial

CLASS 6A – Jai’Von Seat – Edmond Memorial


Posted in COACHES CORNER, NEWS, OBCA ALL DISTRICT, Uncategorized on April 27, 2022 by OBCA


The Oklahoma Basketball Coaches’ Association (OBCA) would like to announce that Tristan Wainscott, a senior from Velma-Alma High School, was recently chosen as the first ever recipient of the Ross Davis Memorial Scholarship.

Established by the family of Ross Davis, the scholarship was for $5000.  The recipient was to be a senior boys’ basketball player who excelled athletically, academically, and morally.  Wainscott, who will graduate from Velma-Alma in May, was a standout athlete for the Comets on both the basketball court and the football field.  He recently signed a letter-of-intent to play football at Abilene Christian University.  He is the son of Wes and Angela Wainscott.

A graduate of Calera High School, Ross Davis is a legendary coach in southern Oklahoma, having stops at Waurika, Velma-Alma, and Calera.  He guided 5 of those teams to the state tournament, winning the state championship at Velma-Alma in 1984.  He was named OCA Region 5 Coach of the Year twice and the Duncan Banner Coach of the Year five times.  Davis coached legendary high school players Kevin Rehl, Jay Mauch, and his own son, Jimmy Davis.  In total, Coach Davis had 421 wins to his credit. 

Coach Davis was inducted into the Bryan County Athletic Hall of Fame and the Oklahoma Coaches Hall of Fame.  He played on the 1956 state championship team at Calera and served three-and-a-half years in the United States Air Force.  Coach Davis passed away on September 25, 2021.


Posted in COACHES CORNER, NEWS, Uncategorized on April 25, 2022 by OBCA

2022 Hall of Fame

Tommy Griffin

Donnie Husband

Lee Reimer

Ken Trickey

Donnie Tuley

Dear coach:

         The Oklahoma Basketball Coaches Association would like to invite you to the 2022 Oklahoma Basketball Coaches Association’s Hall of Fame.

Please make an effort to attend this event and pay your respects to these outstanding coaches on their special day. Our attendance has been borderline embarrassing. Coach Hoffman is attempting to make this a very special event and we as coaches need to do our part.

  The OBCA banquet will be Saturday, June 4th at 12:00PM at the Hilton Garden Inn in Edmond.  A social hour to visit with old friends will be held from 11:00AM to 12:PM in the ballroom.  Tickets may be purchased for $25.00 by calling coach Bob Hoffman head coach at University Central Oklahoma, our host at (478)-954-9186. You can find hotel information on the following page.

I hope to see you in Edmond,

Tim Bart


(918) 327-1855

The Hilton Link is now ready for use. Simply copy and paste the URL below into your browser to access the exclusive rates available for this group:


Hotel: Hilton Garden Inn Edmond Oklahoma City North

Group Name: Oklahoma Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame Banquet June 2022

Group Code: G2OBCA


Ken Trickey, who led Oral Roberts to the NCAA’s Elite Eight in 1974, will be inducted posthumously into the Oklahoma Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

The ceremony will be at noon June 4 at the Hilton Garden Inn in Edmond. Also being inducted will be Tommy Griffin, Donnie Husband, Lee Reimer and Donny Tuley.

Besides ORU, Trickey’s had coaching stints in the state at Claremore Junior College, Oklahoma City University, Oklahoma Junior College and Muskogee High School.

Griffin, now an assistant Del City and the father of NBA player Blake Griffin, has been the head coach of six state boys championship teams, including four in a row at Oklahoma Christian School from 2004-07.

Husband coached Latta to boys state titles in 2013 and ‘14. He also coached at Rush Springs, Silo, Duncan, Blackwell and Keys. Husband led teams to seven state tournaments coaching in Oklahoma from 1983-2018. He has coached at Greenwood (Arkansas) the past four seasons. His overall career record is 538-283.

Reimer had a 485-313 record as Purcell’s basketball coach from 1984-2015. He won state titles at Medford in 1984 and Purcell in 1994. He is currently coaching at Asher.

Tuley has been in coaching for more than 40 years, including the past nine as the Seminole State men’s coach. He coached 32 seasons at Oklahoma City Capitol Hill, and also was an assistant coach for 12 years during that span at Redlands Community College. Tuley, who led Capitol Hill to 10 state tournaments, has more than 700 career wins.

Tickets for the ceremony are $25 and can be purchased by calling University of Central Oklahoma coach Bob Hoffman at 478-954-9186.

HS Summer Basketball 2022

Posted in COACHES CORNER, NEWS, SUMMER CAMPS, Uncategorized on April 19, 2022 by OBCA
Compliments of Coach John Hardaway,
Cashion HS


Posted in COACHES CORNER, NEWS, Uncategorized on March 27, 2022 by OBCA


All State Selection Meetings

Tuesday March 29th – West Selection Committee meeting

Wednesday March 30th – East Selection Committee meeting

2022 OSSAA State Tournament Recap: Class 6A – 2A

Posted in COACHES CORNER, NEWS, Uncategorized on March 22, 2022 by OBCA

Brackets were made by V-Dawg Media

Midwest City, OK


Class 6A Championship Game:
Edmond North – 56
Moore – 50
Class 5A
Championship Game:
Tulsa Memorial – 59
Del City – 47
Class 4A
Championship Game:
Kingfisher – 51
Victory Christian – 43

Class 3A
Championship Game:
Millwood – 53
Community Christian – 50
Class 2A
Championship Game:
Dale – 65
Cashion – 58


Posted in COACHES CORNER, NEWS, Uncategorized on March 21, 2022 by OBCA

1st place – Carson Nelson-Seiling HS-Region 1

Runner up – Evan Barber- Westmoore HS-Region 5


Posted in COACHES CORNER, NEWS, Uncategorized on March 6, 2022 by OBCA

Bill Self Sr.

Posted in Uncategorized on January 21, 2022 by OBCA

University of Oklahoma Men Basketball: High School and Junior High Coaches Open Practice

Posted in COACHES CORNER, NEWS, Uncategorized on October 4, 2021 by OBCA