2021 Hall of Fame

Five coaches with nearly 200 years experience and more than 3,800 victories make up the 2021 class of the Oklahoma Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

The five – Larry Callison, Dan Hays, David Page, Bob Weckstein and the late Ray West – will be inducted during a luncheon in Edmond on June 5. Tim Bart, director of the OBCA Hall of Fame, revealed the roster of honorees this week.

The OBCA was formed in 1967 and the inaugural Hall of Fame induction was in 2002. The 2021 class brings the total of honorees to 115.

Ticket information and reservations may be obtained through Coach Bob Hoffman, University of Central Oklahoma, (405) 974-2145 or bhoffman4@uco.edu.

The 2021 Hall of Fame selections:

Larry Callison. Coached boys and girls basketball during a 40-year career that stretched. Won state championships with boys at Ketchum (1995) and girls at Tahlequah Sequoyah (2015, ’17, ’18) and had three runners-up. Overall coaching record: 900-224 (552-117 in boys, 348-107 in girls), retiring in 2019. Coaching stops: Gore (1977-85), Ketchum (1985-97, 2010-12), Vian (1997-99), Stilwell (1999-01, 2005-06), Eufaula (2001-03, 2006-08), Boynton (2003-05), Tahlequah Sequoyah (2013-19). Member of Oklahoma Coaches Association and Oklahoma Girls Basketball Coaches Association halls of fame.

Dan Hays. During a 38-year collegiate career, compiled record of 724-470 at Northwestern Oklahoma State (five seasons, 71-68 record) and Oklahoma Christian University (33 seasons, 653-402). Holds record for most wins by men’s basketball coach at a four-year Oklahoma college. Spent three years as assistant at Southeastern Oklahoma State. Product of Albuquerque, New Mexico. Inducted into NAIA Hall of Fame, 1998.

David Page. 39 years as coach (36 as head coach). Ranks fifth all time among Oklahoma prep boys basketball coaches with 744 victories. Coached at Blackwell (1980-90), Hominy (1990-98), Yale (1998-2004), Pawnee (2004-current). Won state championships at Yale (1999, 2000) and Pawnee (2005, ’08-09-10) with two runner-up finishes. Product of Oklahoma’s cradle of coaches, Cleveland. Member of Oklahoma Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

Bob Weckstein. Began coaching career with baseball (seven seasons) and girls basketball (four seasons) at Okarche before hitting his stride in boys basketball at Frontier in 1989. Has won six state championships at Frontier, the consolidated Red Rock-Marland schools, with a record of 650-240. Recently retired as superintendent at Frontier but will remain as the head coach. Played for OBCA Hall of Fame coach J.V. Haney.

Ray West. Died in 2019 while in 45th year as head coach. Ranks No. 2 all-time amongOklahoma boys basketball coaches with record of 853-391. Coaching stops: Fort Supply (1974-76), Gould (1976-77), Purcell (1977-78), Mountain View (1978-81), Mustang (1981-82), Cordell (1982-94), Okarche (1994-2019). President of OBCA 1992-93. Will be inducted into Oklahoma Coaches Association Hall of Fame in July.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: